About The College

College of Medicine Leadership

The College of Medicine Dean’s Office is home to Dean, Vice Dean, Medical Education and Student Affairs. Department chairs in Anatomy and Neurobiology, Family and Community Medicine, Internal Medicine, Integrative Medical Sciences and Psychiatry are part of the Dean’s leadership team.

See our:

  • leaders and their biographies, lower on this page

Office of the Dean

Marc Basson, M.D., Ph.D., M.B.A.
Professor of Surgery
Professor of Anatomy and Neurobiology

College of Medicine newsletter

Eugene Mowad, M.D.
Vice Dean and Senior Associate Dean, Academic Affairs
Clinical Professor, Pediatrics

Darcie Flower, M.B.A.
Senior Executive Director, Operations

Academic Affairs

Dr. Sebastian Diaz

Sebastian Diaz, Ph.D., J.D.
Associate Dean, Quality Initiatives
Associate Professor, Family and Community Medicine

Giselle G. Hamad, M.D., FACS, FASMBS
Associate Dean, Clinical Faculty Affairs
Professor, Surgery

Douglas Moses, M.D., ’95
Associate Dean, Admissions and Student Affairs
Clinical Professor, Pediatrics

Dr. William Dumas

William Demas, M.D.
Assistant Dean, Student Support and Enrichment

Medical Education

Cynthia Ledford, M.D.
Senior Associate Dean, Medical Education
Professor, Pediatrics and Internal Medicine

Susan Nofziger, M.D.

Susan Nofziger, M.D.
Associate Dean, Experiential Education
Clinical Associate Professor, Pediatrics

Leah Sheridan, Ph.D.
Associate Dean, Medical Education

Department chairs

John Boltri, M.D.
Chair and Professor Family and Community Medicine

Dr. William Dumas

William Demas, M.D.
Chair, Radiology

Interim Chair, Obstetrics and Gynecology

Nicholas Jouriles, M.D.
Chair, Emergency Medicine

Jeffrey Junko, M.D., ’00
Chair, Orthopaedics


Shefali Mahesh, M.D., M.B.A.
Chair, Pediatrics

Matthew L. Moorman, M.D., M.B.A.
Chair, Surgery

Mehool Patel, M.D., M.B.A. ’98
Chair and Professor, Internal Medicine

Dr. Hans Thewissen

Hans Thewissen, Ph.D.
Chair and Ingalls-Brown Professor, Anatomy and Neurobiology
Interim Chair, Integrative Medical Sciences

Randon Welton, M.D.
Chair and Professor, Psychiatry

Chair, Urology


Phone: 800.686.2511
Contact Form


College of Medicine at NEOMED