The Department of Psychiatry at NEOMED is based at the Rootstown campus and has a clinical presence at the hospitals, community mental health agencies and private practice offices of psychiatrists and psychologists throughout northeast Ohio.

The Department of Psychiatry faculty is comprised of psychiatrists and psychologists in clinical practice in hospital, public and private practice settings. The department is committed to the tripartite mission of teaching, clinical service and research and scholarly activities. Its faculty is actively involved in teaching medicine students and psychiatry residents and is dedicated to the lifelong learning expected of all physicians.

Department Chair

The department chair is Mark R. Munetz, M.D., who serves as The Margaret Clark Morgan Foundation Endowed Chair and Professor of Psychiatry. Dr. Munetz is also the senior clinical consultant for the County of Summit Alcohol, Drug Addiction and Mental Health Services Board.

Meet the chair


The annual Drs. Fred and Penny Frese Lecture includes featured speakers sharing stories of individuals living successfully with schizophrenia and other serious mental illnesses and the ways in which their loved ones support their recovery.

Find out more about the lecture series

Department Newsletter

We invite you to read the latest edition of Free Associations, the NEOMED Department of Psychiatry newsletter to learn more about the department’s activities.


Debbie McConnell
Administrative Coordinator
Phone: 330.325.6690

Department chair

Mark Munetz, M.D.
Phone: 330.325.6691

Department of Psychiatry

College of Medicine at NEOMED