NEOMED’s Department of Psychiatry trains undergraduate medical students, partners with Summa Health System and Akron General Health System to offer a general psychiatry residency program, and has an affiliation with a child and adolescent psychiatry fellowship based at Akron Children’s Hospital.

The department is also home to three coordinating centers of excellence:

Coordinating Centers Of Excellence

BeST Practices in Schizophrenia Treatment

Providing services to help community agencies implement and sustain treatment practices that improve the lives of people affected by schizophrenia.

Visit the BeST Center

Criminal Justice Coordinating Center Of Excellence

Promoting jail diversion alternatives for people with mental health disorders by encouraging the mental health and criminal justice systems to work together.

Visit the CJCCOE

Ohio Program For Campus Safety & Mental Health

Promoting suicide prevention, mental health awareness and stigma reduction activities at college campuses across the state of Ohio.

Visit the OPCSMH


The Department of Psychiatry at NEOMED is based at the Rootstown campus and has a clinical presence at the hospitals, community mental health agencies and private practice offices of psychiatrists and psychologists throughout northeast Ohio.

More on the Department

Education & Training

The Department provides an array of educational programs and training, including University medical student education, residency and clinical fellowship training, post-doctoral research fellowship training, continuing medical education and community outreach.

More on the Education


The Community Mental Health Research Initiative is a collaborative, trans-institutional and interdisciplinary team of researchers in Northeast Ohio. The team includes researchers in the fields of sociology, psychology, public health, psychiatry, family medicine and pharmacy practice who serve as faculty and staff at NEOMED, Kent State University, Hiram College, the University of Akron and Case Western Reserve University.



Lucky Tisch


Randon S. Welton, M.D.
Phone: 330.325.6691

Department of Psychiatry

College of Medicine at NEOMED