Psychiatry

Psychiatry Council

Syed Ahmed, M.D.

Clinical Assistant Professor of Psychiatry
Chief Clinical Officer, Heartland Behavioral Healthcare
Phone: 330.833.3135
Email: Syed.Ahmed@mha.ohio.gov

Sumru Bilge-Johnson, M.D.

Clinical Assistant Professor of Psychiatry
Program Director, Child & Adolescent Fellowship Program, Akron Children’s Hospital
Phone: 330.543.8589
Email: sbilge-johnson@chmca.org

David Deckert, M.D.

Clinical Professor of Psychiatry
Summa Health System
St. Thomas Hospital
444 North Main Street-Main 4
Akron, OH 44310
Phone: 330-379-8199
Email:  deckertd@summahealth.org

Steven Jewell, M.D.

Professor of Psychiatry
Lois C. Orr Endowed Chair
Division of Pediatric Psychiatry and Psychology
Akron Children’s Hospital
215 W. Bowery St.
Akron, Ohio 44308
Phone:330.543.8589
Email: SJewell@akronchildrens.org

Elizabeth Menefee, M.D.

Clinical Assistant Professor of Psychiatry
Child Guidance and Family Solutions
18 North Forge
Akron, OH 44304
Phone: 330-762-0591
Email: menefee@cgfs.org

Erik Messamore, M.D., PH.D.

Associate Professor of Psychiatry
Medical Director, BeST Practices in Schizophrenia Treatment (BeST) Center
Northeast Ohio Medical University
Phone: 330.325-6711
Email: emessamore@neomed.edu

Mark R. Munetz, M.D.

Professor of Psychiatry
The Margaret Clark Morgan Chair of Psychiatry
Northeast Ohio Medical University
Phone: 330.325.6691

Lori Pittinger, M.D.

Assistant Professor of Psychiatry
Akron General Medical Center
Associate Program Director and Core Teaching Faculty, NEOMED Psychiatry Residency Program
Director, Undergraduate Education, NEOMED
Course Director Integrated Steps Curriculum, NEOMED
Phone: 330.344.6525

Chris Ritter, Ph.D.

Professor
Department of Psychiatry
Northeast Ohio Medical University
Phone:  330.325.6165

Harry Sivec, Ph.D.

Clinical Associate Professor of Psychiatry
Northeast Ohio Medical University
BeST Center, Psychiatry
4209 State Route 44, Box 9
Rootstown, OH 44272
Phone: 330-325-6699
Email: hsivec@neomed.edu

Douglas A. Smith, M.D.

Associate Professor of Psychiatry
Medical Director/Chief Clinical Officer
County of Summit Alcohol, Drug Addiction and Mental Health Services Board
1867 W. Market St., Ste. B2
Akron, Ohio 44313
Phone:  330.564.4083

Joy Stankowski, M.D.

Clinical Assistant Professor of Psychiatry
Northcoast Behavioral Healthcare
1756 Sagamore Road
PO Box 678003
Northfield, OH 44067
Phone: 330-467-7131
Email: Joy.stankowski@mha.ohio.gov

Rajesh Tampi, M.D.

Professor of Psychiatry
Cleveland Clinic Akron General
1 Akron General Avenue
Akron, OH 44307
Phone: 330-344-6992
Email: tampir@ccf.org

Joseph Varley, M.D.

Professor of Psychiatry
Chair, Department of Psychiatry, Summa Health System-St Thomas Medical Center
Phone: 330.379.5316

Contact

Debbie McConnell
Administrative Coordinator
Phone: 330.325.6690
Email: dmcconne@neomed.edu

Department chair

Mark Munetz, M.D.
Phone: 330.325.6691
Email: mmunetz@neomed.edu

Department of Psychiatry

College of Medicine at NEOMED