Psychiatry

Psychiatry Council

Syed Ahmed, M.D.

Clinical Assistant Professor of Psychiatry
Chief Clinical Officer, Heartland Behavioral Healthcare
Phone: 330.833.3135
Email: Syed.Ahmed@mha.ohio.gov

Sumru Bilge-Johnson, M.D.

Clinical Assistant Professor of Psychiatry
Program Director, Child & Adolescent Fellowship Program, Akron Children’s Hospital
Phone: 330.543.8589
Email: sbilge-johnson@chmca.org

Stephen Cosby, M.D.

Clinical Associate Professor of Psychiatry
Director, Division of Pediatric Psychiatry & Psychology, Akron Children’s Hospital
Phone: 330.543.8589
Email: scosby@chmca.org

Steven Jewell, M.D.

Associate Professor of Psychiatry
Medical Director, Child Guidance and Family Solutions
Training Director, Child & Adolescent Fellowship Program
Phone: 330.762.2242
Email: sjewell@cjfs.org

Erik Messamore, M.D., PH.D.

Associate Professor of Psychiatry
Medical Director, BeST Pratices in Schizophrenia Treatment (BeST) Center
Northeast Ohio Medical University
Phone: 330.325-6711
Email: emessamore@neomed.edu

 Jeffrey Moore, M.D.

Professor of Psychiatry
Chair, Department of Psychiatry, Akron General Medical Center
Phone: 330-344-6525

Email:  jmoore1@agmc.org

Mark R. Munetz, M.D.

Professor of Psychiatry
The Margaret Clark Morgan Endowed Chair of Psychiatry
Northeast Ohio Medical University
Phone: 330.325.6691

Email: mmunetz@neomed.edu

Joel Mowrey, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Psychiatry
Director, Mental Health & Recovery Board of Portage County
Phone: 330.673.1756

Email:  joelm@mental-health-recovery.org

Lori Pittinger, M.D.

Assistant Professor of Psychiatry
Akron General Medical Center
Associate Program Director and Core Teaching Faculty, NEOMED Psychiatry Residency Program
Director, Undergraduate Education, NEOMED
Course Director Integrated Steps Curriculum, NEOMED
Phone: 330.344.6525

Email:  lpittinger@agmc.org

Chris Ritter, Ph.D.

Professor
Department of Psychiatry
Northeast Ohio Medical University
Phone:  330.325.6165

Email:  jritter@neomed.edu

Douglas A. Smith, M.D.

Clinical Associate Professor of Psychiatry
County of Summit Alcohol, Drug Addiction and Mental Health Services Board
Phone:  330.564.4083

Email: dougsmith@admboard.org

Joseph Varley, M.D.

Professor of Psychiatry
Chair, Department of Psychiatry, Summa Health System-St Thomas Medical Center
Program Director and Core Teaching Faculty, NEOMED Psychiatry Residency Program
Phone: 330.379.5316

Email: varleyj@summahealth.org

Samina Zaidi, M.D.

Clinical Associate Professor of Psychiatry
Aultman Hospital
Clerkship Site Director
Phone:  330.452.7694

Contact

Debbie McConnell
Administrative Coordinator
Phone: 330.325.6690
Email: dmcconne@neomed.edu

Department chair

Mark Munetz, M.D.
Phone: 330.325.6691
Email: mmunetz@neomed.edu

Department of Psychiatry

College of Medicine at NEOMED