New medical students stand as a group outside as part of NEOMED's White Coat Ceremony.

College of Medicine

Northeast Ohio Medical University seeks applications, inquiries and nominations for the position of dean, College of Medicine. This is a unique opportunity for the exemplary candidate to significantly impact the region’s local health care needs and influence the next generation of health care professionals and leaders in the region and beyond.

Leadership profile

The profile describes the College of Medicine and NEOMED, our opportunities and challenges, and the qualifications and personal characteristics we seek in our next dean.

Leadership profile

Search Committee

The committee is charged with leading an inclusive and successful search that identifies a candidate to become dean of the College of Medicine.

Committee members

Dr. John Langell,  President
Dr. Joseph Zarconi, Chair, Professor of Internal Medicine
Dr. Hans Thewissen, Member, Interim Chair, Anatomy and Neurobiology and Distinguished University Professor
Dr. Michael Forbes, Member, Interim Noah Miller Chair, Dept. of Pediatrics, Akron Children’s Hospital
Dr. Jeffrey Mellott, Member, Assistant Professor, Anatomy and Neurobiology
Dr. Julie Aultman, Member, Vice Dean, College of Graduate Studies
Dr. Randon Welton, Member, The Margaret Clark Morgan Chair of Psychiatry
Trinity Samson, Member, NEOMED Student
Andre Burton, Member, Vice President for Human Resources and Diversity
Lacey Madison, Member, Chief Strategy Officer
Maria Schimer, Member, General Counsel
Michelle Mulhern, Member, Chief of Staff and Secretary, Board of Trustees
Mary Taylor, Member, Vice President for Operations and Finance

A note from the search committee

On behalf of the College of Medicine Dean search committee, I would like to share our progress regarding the recruitment as we approach several milestones. Our full committee will be meeting with our WittKieffer consultants later this month and then again in September to decide which candidates to invite for first round interviews in early October. We anticipate second round, on-campus interviews in late October and early November. This will be an opportunity for the NEOMED community, including students, staff, faculty, trainees and alumni to meet the finalists in small and large group settings as well as a public forum.

At this time, we invite you to consider nominating outstanding candidates for this critical NEOMED leadership role. Please use the link to send nominations directly to WittKieffer. Please find here the Leadership Profile for dissemination to your networks and colleagues.

We look forward to the next stages of this search and your engagement in this process.

Most sincerely,

Joseph Zarconi, M.D., F.A.C.P.
Chair of the COM Dean search

Search firm

The committee is working with WittKieffer, a global executive search firm with a highly respected practice in higher education executive search, conducting about 200 leadership-level searches each year.


Applications and Nominations Welcome

Please direct all nominations and applications to Joyce De Leo, Ph.D., Claudia Teschky, Michael Anderson, M.D., and Tiffany Johnson, preferably via e-mail, at WittKieffer. A curriculum vitae, letter of interest, and a diversity statement is required for a full application. Applicants with diverse backgrounds are strongly encouraged to apply. For nominators, please send the name and contact email/phone.

Email WittKieffer

College News