News & Stories

Moses Oyewumi at podium

Chair of Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences Named

Moses Oyewumi, B.Pharm., Ph.D., has been named as chair of the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences at Northeast Ohio Medical University, effective July 1, 2020. Dr. Oyewumi (pronounced Oh-yea-WOO-me) has been with the College of Pharmacy since 2009 and has served as interim chair since September 2018.

A tenured associate professor, Dr. Oyewumi received a 2015 Junior Faculty Award and 2014 College of Pharmacy Teaching Innovation Award at NEOMED and has been recognized with Elsevier’s Top Ten Most Cited Paper and Technical Excellence awards.

Dr. Oyewumi earned a Ph.D. in pharmaceutical sciences from the University of Kentucky and later completed postdoctoral training at the University of Iowa. Prior to joining NEOMED, Dr. Oyewumi was a scientist in pharmaceutics research and development – and later a formulation team leader – in the pharmaceutical industry.

Dr. Oyewumi has held various key positions within the College of Pharmacy and at NEOMED. He actively designs and manages courses within the Pharm.D. curriculum and provides mentorship to students for the Colleges of Pharmacy and Graduate Studies. His research portfolio is focused on the engineering and application of advanced drug delivery in cancer therapeutics, smart drug delivery, bone regeneration, and neuroprotection.