Campus Life

Virtuous Healer Honor Society (VHHS)

The purpose of Virtuous Healer Honor Society (VHHS) is to recognize NEOMED students, physicians, and faculty who exemplify the attributes of the virtuous healer, including:

  • Altruism
  • Compassion
  • Curiosity
  • Generosity
  • Humility
  • Justice
  • Moral Imagination

All M3 students currently enrolled and in good academic standing are eligible for consideration.

The VHHS is composed of NEOMED students, physicians and faculty who exemplify the attributes listed above. Because the NEOMED Chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society (GHHS) was the predecessor to VHHS, and is historically linked to GHHS, NEOMED GHHS members are also members of VHHS.

The Selection  Committee along with the VHHS Co-chair select members annually. VHHS members are expected to attend VHHS meetings and meaningfully participate in the planning and implementation of an annual service project, as well as any other projects identified by the VHHS membership or advisors.

Arnold P. Gold Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award

M3 students are also invited annually to nominate a NEOMED faculty member who most exemplify attributes of the virtuous healer. The individual with the most nominations and approval of VHHS Advisors is awarded the Arnold P. Gold Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award and provides the Keynote address at the annual spring VHHS Induction Ceremony on Wednesday, February 28, 2024 at 5:30 p.m., NEOMED NEW Center – Ballroom.

VHHS Faculty Leadership:

  • L. Austin Fredrickson, MD, FACP (VHHS Faculty Advisor)
  • Jeffrey Mellott, PhD (VHHS Basic Science Faculty Advisor)

Current VHHS Members:

  • Amy Adik
  • Maria Colvis
  • Madison Cox
  • Kyra Deep
  • Christopher Economus
  • Savanna Hoyt
  • Rachel Krevh
  • Shabnam Mansur
  • Maya Schnall
  • Roshni Wani



  • Timothy Barreiro, DO, 2023
  • Mariquita Belen, MD, 2022
  • Kenneth Wyatt, DO, 2021
  • Marcus Julius, MD, 2020
  • David Deckert, MD, 2019
  • Susan Nofziger, MD, 2018
  • David Sperling, MD, 2017
  • Paul Lecat, MD, 2016
  • Jon Arnott, MD, 2015
  • Joseph Zarconi, MD, 2014
  • Deborah Plate, DO, 2013
  • Kevin Dieter, MD, 2012


Harmony Stanger, M.B.A.
Assistant Director, Student Affairs
Phone: 330-325-6719