News & Stories

Jared Slanina, Katherine Miranda and Lorans Jones

Leadership Portage County’s Class of 2020 Includes NEOMED Staff Members

Each year, a group of local up-and-coming leaders are selected to participate in Leadership Portage County — a nine-month experience designed to develop leaders and gain a deeper understanding of the communities where they live and work.

With NEOMED located in Portage County, three staff members of Northeast Ohio Medical University are representing the University in the Leadership Portage County Class of 2020: Lorans Jones, a senior data specialist; Katherine Miranda, NEOMED’s registrar; and Jared Slanina, an integrated marketing strategist.

So far, this year’s cohort has taken a trip to Camp James A. Garfield and a day-long tour of Portage County. The sessions will continue through May 2020, including a day spent examining the social services needs of Portage County and time devoted to touring county facilities and meeting with elected officials. Participants will have the opportunity to learn about Portage County’s economy as well as about 21st century career readiness and the state of health care.

Each session is conducted by leaders in the field of the topics related to the day’s theme.

Applications are now being accepted for the Leadership Portage County Class of 2021.