News & Stories

Fourth-year medicine student Sanjay Jinka with the NEOMED building in the background.

Fourth-year Medicine Student Earns AMA’s Foundation Ohio Physicians of Tomorrow Scholarship

Fourth-year medicine student Sanjay Jinka is a recipient of the 2022 American Medical Association (AMA) Foundation Ohio Physicians of Tomorrow Scholarship.

According to the award notice, the $10,000 scholarship recognizes “extraordinary medical students entering their fourth year of studies. The selection committee was extremely impressed by your scholastic, personal and professional accomplishments.”

Jinka was nominated for the scholarship by Corrie Stofcho, M.D., FAAP, assistant dean of Student Affairs in the College of Medicine and clinical assistant professor of pediatrics.

“Sanjay is a true leader amongst his peers and exhibits a high level of professionalism in both the academic and community setting,” Dr. Stofcho wrote in her letter of recommendation.

Jinka has shared those leadership skills as the CEO of the Student-Run Free Clinic, a NEOMED clinical initiative. He was also appointed by Ohio Governor Mike DeWine to serve as a member of the NEOMED Board of Trustees. In addition, he serves as incoming president of the Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Society and has been an active delegate and committee chair for NEOMED’s AMA-MSS chapter.

“I am honored to receive this recognition from the AMA Foundation,” said Jinka, who is pursuing residency in plastic surgery. “It is a kind of validation that I’m on the right track and it will help me continue to pursue leadership opportunities at NEOMED and beyond.”