News & Stories

A group of smiling pharmacy students holding a NEOMED sign.

Awards and Reflections from the Ohio Pharmacists Association Conference

More than 30 students, alumni, faculty and staff from the College of Pharmacy  attended the 144th Ohio Pharmacists Association (OPA) annual conference April 1-3 in Columbus, returning with numerous awards and reflections.

Richard Kasmer, Pharm.D., J.D., dean of the College of Pharmacy, said he was very pleased and proud to have two teams representing NEOMED at the event – one team participating in the OTC Competition (third-year students Elizabeth Tagliarini, Austin Clapper and George Koupiaris, second-year student Jolene Novak and first-year student Jasmine Samaroo) and the other in the Business Plan Competition (third-year students Jade Natali, Hannah Colburn and Olivia Zanolli).

Dr. Kasmer also led by example, as one of the faculty, students and alumni who delivered eight poster or other presentations during the conference.

Alumnus Dustin Carneal, Pharm.D. (’15), received the Upsher-Smith Excellence in Innovation Award, which recognizes a pharmacist who has demonstrated innovative pharmacy practice resulting in improved patient care.

Two NEOMED-affiliated pharmacists received the UNDER 40 Award, which recognizes leadership, excellence and vision in the practice of pharmacy: alumna Dana Wilkerson, Pharm.D. (’16), BCACP, specialty pharmacy manager, Nationwide Children’s Hospital, and Kevin Fuschetto, Pharm.D., BCACP, BC-ADM, assistant professor of pharmacy practice, and director of clinical services, NEOvations Pharmacy Services, LLC.

Networking opportunities taken

A few of the many takeaways and highlights from the conference:

Second-year student Ellyse Ridgway said, “Attending OPA was a great experience! It gave me the opportunity to meet experts and major influencers in the field of pharmacy as well as connect with students and faculty from NEOMED and other institutions.”

Third-year student Elizabeth Tagliarini appreciated the opportunity to network with professionals and students from across the state. In addition, “I also got to brush up on lot of my guidelines in the various sessions,” she said.

Networking opportunities were also a highlight for fourth-year student Melinda Conley. “I loved that I got to see first-hand how much easier it is to network with people when you have a poster or presentation to discuss with them,” she noted. “I talked to so many different professionals at OPA.”

NEOMED Presentations at the OPA Conference

“Ohio Innovative Practice Forum: Orthopaedic Medication Use Process and Pharmacy Practice Model Innovations”

Authors: Dustin Carneal, Pharm.D. (’15), Abby Brookbank, Pharm.D. (’19), Cameron Warner (P4), Jason Patton (P4).

“Review of 50 states pharmacy laws and rules related to pharmacist licensure after graduating from an Ohio college of pharmacy”

Authors: Melinda Conley (P4), Cameron Warner (P4), Deborah Loyet, M.A., M.S., executive director, administration, faculty affairs and institutional research, Richard Kasmer, Pharm.D., J.D., dean, College of Pharmacy

“Finding the right balance: A nationwide study of student pharmacist exposure to and perceptions of nonsterile compounding”

Authors: Liz Fredrickson, Pharm.D., BCPS, assistant professor of pharmacy practice, assistant professor of pharmaceutical sciences, Faith G. Belcher (P3), Kamryn M. Del Vecchio (P3), Leila S. Jugo (P3), Miranda N. Galleher (P3), Raneem H. Pallotta (P4), Victor A. Pallotta (P4), David M. Gothard, M.S.

“Evaluating the role of pharmacy technician-administered vaccines during the COVID-19 pandemic”

Authors: Kevin Fuschetto, Pharm.D., BCACP, BC-ADM, assistant professor of pharmacy practice, director of clinical services, NEOvations Pharmacy Services, LLC, Kunal Amin, Pharm.D., assistant professor of pharmacy practice, VP & director of clinical services, NEOvationsRx, Erin Merico (P4), M. Dave Gothard, M.S.

“Clinical pharmacy specialist impact on post-operative glucose control”

Authors: Bhavika Patel, Pharm.D. (’21), PGY1 pharmacy resident, Aultman Alliance Community

“Health professions education students’ perceptions of and experiences with philanthropy”

Authors: Vindya Perera, M.P.H. (P3), Liz Fredrickson, Pharm.D., BCPS, Dave Gothard, M.S.

“Patient satisfaction with pharmacist-led chronic care management services at a federally qualified health center”

Authors: Dana Webb, Pharm.D., PGY-2 pharmacy resident, Kenneth Furdich, Pharm.D., BCACP, clinical pharmacy manager, AxessPointe Community Health Centers, assistant professor of pharmacy practice, Magdi Awad, Pharm.D., M.S.A., associate professor of pharmacy practice

“Pharmacy-driven AUC/MIC protocol for pneumonia”

Authors: David C. Whipkey, Pharm.D., Aultman Alliance Community Hospital, Nichole Thorne, Pharm.D., clinical assistant professor of pharmacy practice, Megan King, Pharm.D., BCACP, Zachary Selker, Pharm.D., Thomas Rouzzo, Pharm.D., Aultman Alliance Community Hospital




Recent Posts

Recent Comments