News & Stories

NEOMED's Silk Scholars

2018 Silk Scholars Named

Congratulations to students from the College of Pharmacy and College of Medicine who have been named as 2018 Silk Scholars!

Each year, the Fred F. Silk Foundation awards scholarships to deserving students from Stark County. The Silk Foundation Trustees welcomed the 2018 scholarship recipients at a luncheon March 13.

Shown in the photo, from left to right: Tim Ulbrich, Pharm.D., an assistant professor of pharmacy practice; Emma Coleman (P4); Amber Takacs (P1); Dennis Fox, Silk Foundation trustee; Puneet Kang (M1); Paul Helmuth, Silk Foundation trustee; Mason Fowler (P2); Sharon Bernard (M4); Krish Dewan (M2); Amy Ketler (P3); John Boltri, M.D., professor and chair of the Department of Family and Community Medicine; and Jay A. Gershen, D.D.S., Ph.D., president.

Not pictured, Omar Shwaiki (M3).

The Fred F. Silk Foundation established two endowments at the NEOMED Foundation valued at nearly $1 million. To date, the NEOMED Foundation has awarded more than $200,000 in scholarship support