General Surgery

The mission of the Department of Surgery is to provide a thorough education in all aspects of surgery to students, to facilitate the education of residents and physicians, to promote the growth and development of teaching faculty, and to promote collaborative research within the Northeast Ohio Medical University consortium.

Chair of Surgery

The chair of surgery is Nancy Gantt, M.D. Dr. Gantt currently serves as co-medical director of the Joanie Abdu Comprehensive Breast Care Center at Mercy Health in Youngstown.  She also serves as the associate director of residency training at St. Elizabeth Youngstown Hospital.  She has been involved in NEOMED student education for over 20 years, serving as M3 surgery clerkship director and M3 curriculum director for surgery.

Dr. Gantt earned her medical degree from the University of Chicago Pritzker School of Medicine and completed an internship, research, and general surgery residency at the University of Pittsburgh.


Joann Hayes
Phone: 330.325.6330

Department Chair

Nancy Gantt, M.D.
Phone: 330.325.6330

Department of General Surgery

College of Medicine at NEOMED