Emergency Medicine

The Department of Emergency Medicine is part of the Northeast Ohio Medical University Division of Clinical Sciences.

Meet the department chair

Nicholas Jouriles, M.D.

Nicholas Jouriles, M.D., is Professor and Chair of Emergency Medicine at NEOMED, and Vice Chair, Faculty Development at Summa Health.

He has served on and led many regional, national and international emergency medicine committees and boards, including ACEP, where he served on the Board of Directors from 2005-10 and was elected to every office, culminating in president.

He was honored in 2018 with the American College of Emergency Physician’s highest award, the John G. Wiegenstein Leadership Award.

He has designed emergency medicine education programs and curricula for medical students, residents and post training learners around the world. He has published on education, policy and operations, particularly freestanding emergency departments.

He earned his undergraduate degree from the University of Pennsylvania and his medical degree from Case Western University. He trained at Dartmouth and Denver Health.


Katie Tunney
Administrative Coordinator
Phone: 330.325.6294
Email: ktunney@neomed.edu


Nicholas J. Jouriles, M.D.
Phone: 330.325.6294
Email: njouriles@gmail.com


College of Medicine at NEOMED