About the College

LCME Accreditation

Welcome to the LCME Accreditation Website

As the official accrediting body for medical education programs in the U.S. and Canada leading to the M.D. degree, the Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME) evaluates medical schools about every eight years. The LCME accreditation process provides a valuable opportunity for quality assurance and improvement of our college and our curriculum.

Through Accred the Med, students within the College of Medicine are encouraged and empowered to find their voice and impact positive change.

Dear NEOMED Campus Community,

NEOMED will host a site visit from the Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME) on March 24-27, 2019. Ongoing accreditation from the LCME, the national accrediting body for educational programs leading to the M.D. degree in the United States and Canada, is essential to our College of Medicine and the University.

The LCME self-study process has been completed and the documentation required for accreditation review- the data collection instrument (DCI), student independent analysis and graduate questionnaire — were submitted to the LCME in mid- December, 2018. We will be holding a mock site visit on January 14-15, 2019 with an external team to practice and prepare for the full site visit that will take place on March 25-27. Planning for the full site visit is currently underway.

I want to thank in advance all of the individuals who will be involved in this critical process. The success of the self-study and site visit are only possible through a collaboration of students, faculty and staff. This webpage and the College of Medicine’s newsletter will inform you of our activities and LCME self-study progress, and provide important information related to accreditation through the entire accreditation process. I look forward to working with you and welcome your feedback along this journey.


Elisabeth H. Young, M.D.
Vice President for Health Affairs
Dean, College of Medicine

Accred the Med

Find Your Voice for Positive Change




Committee Name

Chairs/Vice Chairs

Admission, Progress and Academic Support (Standards 10, 11) William M. Chilian, Ph.D.
Curriculum (Standards 6, 7, 8) Ryan Palmer, Ed.D.
Educational Resources (Standard 5) John Boltri, M.D.
Faculty and Assessment (Standards 4, 9) Jeffrey J. Wenstrup, Ph.D. (Vice Chair)
Institution (Standards 1, 2) Brett Schofield, Ph.D.
Medical Student Support Services and Learning Environment  (Standards 3, 12) Rebecca Z. German, Ph.D.

For questions regarding sub-committees or accessing subcommittee documents please contact Allison Hawkes, M.D., director, accreditation at ahawkes@neomed.edu or 330.325.6639.


Phone: 800.686.2511
Contact Form



LCME Accreditation

College of Medicine at NEOMED