Pediatrics

Pediatrics Clerkship

The Pediatrics Clerkship is a six-week clinical rotation that is designed to provide all third-year medicine (M3) students with:

  • development of clinical competence,
  • fostering appropriate attitudes toward professional responsibility as a physician, and
  • and introduction to collaborative patient care in the specialty of Pediatrics

 

Download the Pediatrics Clerkship Course Syllabus*

Clerkship Goals & Objectives

The overall goal of the Pediatrics Clerkship is the mastery of basic core competencies that are essential for practice as a competent physician, regardless of career focus.

More on Goals & Objectives

Performance Requirements

Students must meet minimum performance requirements to complete the Pediatrics Clerkship satisfactorily.

More on Minimum Performance Requirements

Course Administration

Clinical Experiential Director & Course Directors

Dr. Kenneth Wyatt is Clinical Experiential Director for the Pediatrics Clerkship and in collaboration with Dr. David Sperling, Senior Director of Clinical Experiential Learning, and Dr. Susan Nofziger, Director of M3 Clinical Experiences, provides oversight for the clerkship. In his role as Clinical Experiential Director, Dr. Wyatt is responsible for ensuring that implementation of the Pediatrics curriculum is consistent across all teaching sites.

Kenneth Wyatt, D.O.
Akron Children’s Hospital
Email: KWyatt@akronchildrens.org
Phone: 330.543.4441

David M. Sperling, M.D.
Email: dsperling@neomed.edu
Phone: 330.325.6778

Susan Nofziger, M.D.
Email: snofziger@neomed.edu
Phone: 330.325.5907

Course Coordinator

David Ruble, M.S.
Email: druble@neomed.edu
Phone: 330.325.6140

Contact

Deborah Krznarich
Phone: 330.543.5131
Email: dkrznarich@akronchildrens.org

Department Chair

Norman C. Christopher, M.D.
Phone: 330.543.8906
Email: nchristopher@akronchildrens.org

Department of Pediatrics

College of Medicine at NEOMED