Internal Medicine

Internal Medicine Clerkship

The Internal Medicine Clerkship is a nine-week clinical rotation that is designed to provide all third-year medicine (M3) students with:

  • development of clinical competence,
  • fostering appropriate attitudes toward professional responsibility as a physician, and
  • and introduction to the specialty of Internal Medicine.

 

Download the Internal Medicine Clerkship Course Syllabus*

Clerkship Goals & Objectives

The overall goal of the Internal Medicine Clerkship is the mastery of the basic core competencies that are essential for practice as a competent physician focused on the ACGME core competencies.

More on Goals & Objectives

Performance Requirements

Students must meet minimum performance requirements to complete the Internal Medicine satisfactorily.

More on Minimum Performance Requirements

Course Administration

Clinical Experiential Director & Course Directors

Dr. Paul Lecat serves as the Clinical Experiential Director for the Internal Medicine Clerkship and in collaboration with Dr. David Sperling, Senior Director of Clinical Experiential Learning, and Dr. Susan Nofziger, Director of M3 Clinical Experiences, provides oversight for the clerkship. In his role as Clinical Experiential Director, Dr. Lecat ensures that implementation of the Internal Medicine curriculum is comparable across all teaching sites.

Paul Lecat, M.D.
Email: plecat@neomed.edu
Phone: 330.325.6843

David M. Sperling, M.D.
Email: dsperling@neomed.edu
Phone: 330.325.6778

Susan Nofziger, M.D.
Email: snofziger@neomed.edu
Phone: 330.325.5907

Course Coordinator

David Ruble, M.S.
Email: druble@neomed.edu
Phone: 330.325.6140

Contact

Mary Shipp
Office Assistant
Phone: 330.325.6458
Email: mkshipp@neomed.edu

Department Chair

Joseph Zarconi, M.D., F.A.C.P.
Phone: 330.325.6541
Email: jzarconi@neomed.edu

Department of Internal Medicine

College of Medicine at NEOMED