Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools

Home Academics College of Medicine Departments Psychiatry



The Department of Psychiatry at NEOMED is based at the Rootstown campus and has a clinical presence at the hospitals, community mental health agencies and private practice offices of psychiatrists and psychologists throughout northeast Ohio. The department chair is Mark R. Munetz, M.D., who serves as The Margaret Clark Morgan Foundation Endowed Chair and Professor of Psychiatry. Dr. Munetz is also the senior clinical consultant for the County of Summit Alcohol, Drug Addiction and Mental Health Services Board.

The Department of Psychiatry faculty is comprised of psychiatrists and psychologists in clinical practice in hospital, public and private practice settings. The department is committed to the tripartite mission of teaching, clinical service and research and scholarly activities. Its faculty is actively involved in teaching medicine students and psychiatry residents and is dedicated to the lifelong learning expected of all physicians.

The Department of Psychiatry administrative offices are located in Suite B 227 on the Rootstown campus. In addition to the office of the chair, four programs operated by the Department of Psychiatry are based in the Psychiatry office suite at NEOMED: the Best Practices in Schizophrenia Treatment (BeST) Center, the Ohio Criminal Justice Coordinating Center of Excellence (CJ CCoE), the Ohio Program for Campus Safety and Mental Health and The Center for Community Mental Health Research.

The NEOMED psychiatry general adult residency program is supported by both Akron General Medical Center and Summa Health System. The residency program director is Joseph Varley, M.D., professor of psychiatry and chair of psychiatry at Summa Health System. The NEOMED Psychiatry Department is also affiliated with a fellowship in Child and Adolescent Psychiatry based at Akron Children’s Hospital. The fellowship director is Sumru Bilge-Johnson, M.D., a clinical assistant professor of psychiatry, and is based at Akron Children’s Hospital. The training director is Steven Jewell, M.D., an associate professor of psychiatry and medical director of Child Guidance & Family Solutions in Akron.

The psychiatry clerkship curriculum director is Lori Pittinger, M.D., an assistant professor of psychiatry based at Akron General Medical Center. Psychiatry is introduced formally in the curriculum in the first year of medical school as part of the Brain, Mind and Behavior and longitudinal doctoring courses. Additional psychiatry material is taught to second-year medicine students as part of the Principles of Medicine course. The six-week required core psychiatry clerkship for third-year medicine students is based at Akron General Medical Center and Summa Health System in Akron, and Aultman Hospital in Canton. There are a number of electives in psychiatry available for fourth-year students.

To learn more about the Department of Psychiatry's activities, please check out our department newsletter, Free Associations.